Object Writing – Scrubs 

The blue top, and worn out slippers

The recognisable face of a coffee overdose

The baggy pants, the desperate thirst

To save lives

A hero in blue

In a world of misfortune

The sorrows, they hear, 

To their fears, in tune

Fighting their fight

Walking their walk 

Helping their flight

After a hell still in sight

I’ve always wanted

To don this too

The heroic understatement

Of a doctor’s blue 

But life has bruised me

So harshly and painfully 

That instead of becoming a doctor

Now I’ve become a patient

I don’t know where I’m going 

And I don’t know what to do 

But all I know

One day 

I want to don a doctor’s scrubs 

And be, too,

A hero in blue. 

Leave a Reply

